PDA

View Full Version : welding question MAYDAY!! ;-)

liberybell
08-06-2008, 05:11 PM
Have any of you weld ss of 1/16 thickness?
I am planing to use a 3/32 rod at a very low voltage. But since I have zero experience welding (I am one of those that like to try anything ;-) I thought that some tips from you guys may very well save me from a disaster.

As we all know the conductivity on ss is not near as good as in other metals like aluminum or copper. So I think it is crucial for our setups to weld the joins between plates and the connection to the threaded rod that acts as terminal in order to improve conductivity and reduce possible heat. Opinions?

One thing it has been going around in my head is what would happen if we use copper terminals (well insulated) instead of ss threaded rod. Anybody has experience with copper terminals?

Thank you guys.

BAD MEDICINE
08-06-2008, 05:42 PM
Stainless Steel is easier to weld than aluminum. If the two pieces of steel are welded together you wont have to worry about them making a good electrical connection to each other.

Since you should only need small tack welds, i think even an inexperience welder could pull it off.

Wako216
08-06-2008, 06:44 PM