PDA

View Full Version : SOS newbie here

moosiani
02-27-2012, 08:17 PM
So I thought I had read enough about this to build my own. After today I think I need to read more. I built my first HHO generator today that seems to have turned into a paperweight.
I used a plastic rectangular tupperware container with a locking lid which has locking handles. 5.5" tall, 7"wide & 5" wide.All 4 of my 304L stainless steel plates were 3" by 6" 1/16 thick attached with nylon 5/16 nuts and bolts with 1/16" nylon spacers. So from what I had read online I decided to try +nn- for my first time.
So now that all was ready I put my tap water in the container just to cover the top of the plates which left me with about 1" of clearance from the top of the water level to the lid. I hooked up my battery charger to the 2 terminals sticking out of the lid. Im using a professional battery charger just like the one you would typically see in an average repair garage (12v 60a}. So turned on the charger and not a whole happened. I got very little bubbles most of which remained stuck tot he plates. there was never a cloud of bubbles to be seen. WHY?

hhomakers
02-27-2012, 09:39 PM
try adding more koh

hhofox
02-28-2012, 08:51 AM
It's great that you are going the DIY path with HHO. It seems like you already know the next step to take though -read some more.
There is a lot of very good info available here, so don't hold back. Read other posts like yours and you'll see what's lacking.

On another note:

Do not allow the water to pass the top of the plates.
Use Distilled Water instead of tap.
Mix in 1/4 Tablespoon of NaOH (caustic soda or drain opener) at a time to see more bubbles. Be careful with NaOH - use plastic gloves!
Use -NNNN+ as your config. (Does not make much difference if the water in the container is flowing around all the plates, giving them the same amount of voltage.)

Recommended reading:http://2hho.com/hho_plans.htm

moosiani
02-28-2012, 09:06 AM