PDA

View Full Version : good cells and bad cells

danser75
01-09-2012, 01:08 AM
Well guys if this information is on the forum i can't find it and i am sorry for bringing it up again. But if its on the internet and no one is trying to sell it to me i can't find it.

I want to know how to find a good dry cell and tell it apart form a junk cell. Almost all of them seem to be built with 316L stainless steel using a configuration of +nnnnn-nnnnn+ so how do I tell if the one am about to purchase is good.

Also while we are at it since I am new to this and everyone claimes that their system will produce 50,000 lpm hho at 5 amps running 12 volts. How do I do the math to figure out what the output of a cell should be?

I am going to be using this for a car install and so i am working between 11-14 volts. I have also wondered why do they only use 5 neutral plates not 6? yes the car battery is 12 volts but the running car has an alternator putting out 13.8 volts thus it only seems resonable to me to include 13.8 volts in the calculation for the cell. If you take 12 and divide it by the now 7 cavaties you will get 1.72 volts which is low but should produce hho correct?

lhazleton
01-09-2012, 12:06 PM
I am going to be using this for a car install and so i am working between 11-14 volts. I have also wondered why do they only use 5 neutral plates not 6? yes

Neutral plates are up to the builder. I prefer using 6 (13.8 / 7 cells = 1.97vdc per cell), while others use 5 neutrals for 2.3vdc. Either is acceptable, though I personally don't like going over 2v per cell gap.

BioFarmer93
01-09-2012, 12:34 PM
Danser75,