PDA

View Full Version : Which is better? High or low Voltage?

scob89
11-14-2011, 12:56 AM
I am fairly new to HHO, I have order a cell off ebay and installed it in a vehicle before, but mounted it too close to the exhaust manifold and it melted.

Now I have built my own HHO generator and want to install it in my truck.

I have a few questions since i am starting fresh with this install.

It is better to run AC or DC?
14.7V or 50V+?

I think DC would be better since the majority of youtube videos are running DC.

This is the plan.
My truck is a 1996 Mazda B2300 with a 2.3L 4 banger with a 5 speed manual transmission. It gets anywhere from 25 to 30MPG. It has air conditioning that works perfect, yet I never use it. I would like to remove(and sell) the compressor and replace it with a second alternator. The truck has almost 200K mile on it(original engine and tranny) and still does burnouts. Due to an old lady driver and their insurance, I was basically paid to own the truck.(Paid $500 and after old lady redid the bodywork on the bed of the truck, was paid $600)

The generator would be installed in the bed of the truck, the front drivers side corner, and a mounting bracket would be made to hold it there. the wires and HHO output tube would go through the bed and be run inside the C-channel frame, then up to the engine compartment.

The alternator that I have to install is a GM 120Amp, I have a rebuild kit for it that will turn it into a PMA, so no battery required to excite the field coils. I have to option of removing the internal rectifier and voltage controller. and installing a separate 3 phase bridge rectifier so I would have high voltage DC. I think they product around 120V unregulated voltage.