PDA

View Full Version : low output?

nst6563
05-19-2011, 04:29 AM
I'm relatively new to the dry cell, messed around with a wet cell a couple years ago and priorities changed. Anyway, just for experiments sake, I've got 13 ss plates 4"x6". Small hole in the bottom, large hole in the top. Plate configuration is -NNNNN+NNNNN-. Currently using (roughly) 1/16" rubber gaskets tightened down thinner. Electrolyte is roughly 10% KOH.

Right now I don't have a resevoir setup to circulate electrolyte - might be part of the problem. When the cell gets low I simply stop and re-fill. The resevoir might come into play this weekend if I have time. Run over the period of a couple hours the cell gets VERY warm/hot - circulating the electrolyte would help this as well from what I understand.

Anyway, with the above specs running at 12v 6A I barely get a water bottle (standard 500ml) filled in a minute. I have a small hose on the output right now as well so that is most likely restricting things a bit. Hopefully I can get larger hose this weekend as well as the fittings.

Am I expecting too much or am I missing something?

Thanks in advance for helping a noob ;)

koya1893
05-19-2011, 04:50 AM
nst,
Welcome to the forum and welcome back the "madness". I am running similar configuration on the Infiti and half that on my Harley. Are your holes staggared? did you media blast (sand blasted) the plates. When you say very hot. Did you use a IR thermometer or just to the touch? I can run my cell for 4 hours straight, it will get to 110 degree. Also, when you ger a reservoir, make sure the top of your cell is just at the bottom of your reservoir so it will circulate and let gravity do it's thing to do so.

I've been trying something new, well I don't know if it's new. I saw a cell built by Larry using the same gasket pattern to prevent some of the voltage leakage. The key to some of the great production on my cell isthe 5N and 7 plates for single stack and 5N 13 plates for two stack.