PDA

View Full Version : Newb here with his first HHO generator

Tennpenn83
05-18-2011, 05:58 AM
Hi all, I have been turned on to the scene recently and would like to thank everyone for the information that is posted up in many great threads already on the forum.

I have built an HHO generator, and I know it is very basic, but I was just wanting to see if I could do it. It is nothing special, just a 2 gallon painter's bucket with a couple plates, wires and 1 gallon of distilled water + 6 tsp of NaOH. I only experimented with the mother of all flashlight batteries, then my car's battery to see the difference. (and wow... what a difference..)

Obviously, I am not done here. I just wanted to see if it could work, and it does. I have already noticed that the wires eventually got super hot while holding the leads on the car battery, so those will have to be upgraded (they are 12g wires...) and I have been looking in to building a dry cell.

I am a college student with a major in physics, and see a lot of potential with this system, and it's implemented use in cars. However, I am curious to know if the increased mileage that people are seeing has more to do with the hydrogen input, or from scaling back the fuel injectors via MAP/MAF so the car runs leaner. Maybe a combination of both? A little more help to understand this better would be greatly appreciated.

I also tune my own car via HP Tuners. This is not an on-the-fly tuning device like the Apexi AFC, this is a log, stop, change tune, load tune, start car, drive/log, repeat process. How are people using this software (if any) to tune their cars? I am not a newb to tuning, but I have seen many videos of HHO in cars, and most have a dial/knob to control MAF/MAP or have a EFIE/PWM. Not a tuning program like HP Tuners.

Thanks for the help.

Tennpenn83
05-18-2011, 06:01 AM
Second post to show youtube videos of my project

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=POnX7ET4ONg