PDA

View Full Version : 12V battery issue

lemains
07-31-2008, 12:48 PM
Hi,

I am new to this technology and just beginning to test my cell.

How can I keep the cell connected to the 12V battery for a long period of time (+2 hours) without draining the battery?

Yesterday when I connected the cell to the battery, the tester was showing 12.5 V

After 20 min the tester was showing 4.5 V

Thanks a lot,

Smith03Jetta
07-31-2008, 02:21 PM
You can not expect a battery to last very long if it is not constantly being recharged at a rate equal to your generator consumption. If you want to bench test using a battery, hook up a battery charger to the battery and bump the amps up as high as the charger will go. This should buy you some time.

A better way is to buy an automotive alternator at a used car parts place and mount it to your workbench. Attach an electric motor to the alternator via a belt. Plug the electric motor into the wall and have fun. Don't forget to use a voltage regulator between the alternator and the battery to keep the alternator from overcharging the battery.

I've attached a photo. It's pretty elaborate but you get the idea. It can be done a lot easier than in this photo. This photo is from an alternator shop. They use this setup to test re-manufactured alternators. It's not exactly how we would use the setup but it works just the same.

lemains
07-31-2008, 05:36 PM
thanks a lot

lemains
05-04-2009, 02:28 PM
You can not expect a battery to last very long if it is not constantly being recharged at a rate equal to your generator consumption. If you want to bench test using a battery, hook up a battery charger to the battery and bump the amps up as high as the charger will go. This should buy you some time.