PDA

View Full Version : storing HHO

AsTheSun
07-12-2010, 10:21 AM
hi folks i'm new to this so bare with me. i recently made my first hydrolyzer successfully and started doing research about what can be done with this gas. i would like to be able to produce an amount of gas, store it in a tank and use it later. a few sites say it is very dangerous to do this and i am unsure why, aside from the obvious reasons (it's explosive). oxygen is stored pressurized in tanks, as is hydrogen. is HHO more dangerous to store than just H or O?

myoldyourgold
07-12-2010, 10:48 AM
Storing HHO is very dangerous. HHO can self ignite under the right conditions. One is pressure. O or H by them selves do not have this problem. Just do not do it!!!!

AsTheSun
07-12-2010, 10:51 AM
Storing HHO is very dangerous. HHO can self ignite under the right conditions. One is pressure. O or H by them selves do not have this problem. Just do not do it!!!!

what causes it to self-ignite?

myoldyourgold
07-12-2010, 12:13 PM
The complexity of this subject is out of my realm and will leave the science behind it to others on the forum. Now that said I can say that there is some controversy over the storage / pressure of HHO. I personally do not want to take the chance of a dangerous explosion. Simply put there are three things you need to start a fire;
1. Fuel (Hydrogen)
2. Oxygen
1 and 2 together are an ignitable/explosive mixture HHO
3. Ignition source.
Ignition can be initiated by flame, spark or heat.

Part of the debate is the mixture of Para to Ortho hydrogen. If it is possible and you increase the orthohydrogen ratio then it is conceivable that self ignition could happen at lower pressure and temperature as is claimed by some. At very low temperatures hydrogen liquefies and changes state to almost all parahydrogen and is compressed and stored in this manner. (Rocket fuel) The fact is the less orthohydrogen you have the safer it is but that results in less energy.