PDA

View Full Version : Please HELP . ATX PSU anomoly . atleast to me

freemanenergies
02-21-2010, 07:10 PM
Hello All

i am new to this forum although i have been dabbling with hho for a few years now on and off . i recently dug out my 6" 6 cell stan myers mini tube i built a few years back and wanted to try to make a small AC powered torch out of it . i first picked up a 40 amp 600v full wave bridge rectifier and put that direct in line with the cell (IT CRANKED FOR ABOUT 5 SEC TILL THE BREAKER BLEW) . obviously i am drawing too many amps . SOOOOO i poked around to find out how i could power my cell in the house above the 10amps i can get out of my battery charger and stumbled across a old 300w 30a ATX power supply . got online and found out i needed to cut all the black wires and hook them together for my ground ( with the exception of 1 that i would join to the green wire for the psu power on) and cut all the yellow wires putting them all together for my positive lead . SO I DID and soldered everything in a nice bunch . when i hooked it up to my cell it did nothing . ATX/PSU did not power on at all . i checked everything with the volt meter and nothing . BUT when i had the volt meter in line with the current the ATX/PSU JOLTED on and of for a sec . i then realized if i taped the lead on and off the terminal the ATX/PSU would stay on (the cooling fan spins constant once you get a rythm going) and i got a jumping amp reading up to about 19 amps and GREAT HHO production for the input amperage . SOOOOO i can simulate this action by taking the green and black on / off wires for the PSU and touching them together then taking them apart over and over . WHAT IS THE DEAL ??? is there a diode or relay i can put in place of the on off switch that will make it do the same action as me connecting and disconnecting rapidly . or is my PSU hooked up wrong ?

thank you in advance

n8

freemanenergies
02-21-2010, 11:34 PM