PDA

View Full Version : Very confused about HHO

canpower
09-28-2009, 12:29 PM
Hello everyone,
I'm new here, so please forgive me if I have broken any rules by posting this here!

Recently, I became aware of the possibility to create hydrogen gas via a simple process of submerging 2 stainless steel electrodes into water which contains some baking soda, and simply attaching the 12V battery of your car to these electrodes to create hydrogen gas, which is then simply fed into the air intake of the engine above the PCV valve to boost the vehicles fuel efficiency immensly, such as the one shown on this link below:

http://www.hydrogencar-directory.info/Hydrogen_Fuel_Car_Kits.html

I thought this was great, as I am an electronics tech, and fully aware of how to build my own projects if need be, so I decided to look further into it. (and I own a gas guzzling minivan, and am not a fan of the world situation)

This is when it became REALLY confusing!!

The more I read the MORe I became confused.

At first, it seemed that the plan was simple, you just attach the power from the batter to the electrodes in a container of water and baking soda, hook up an output tube, connect it to the engine, and voila, instant fuel savings!

When I looked further into it, I first found that there were TONS of skeptics that said you couldn't even MAKE hydrogen gas in this method, it was impossible, or we would ALL be doing it!

So, I did a simple small experiment, I made a couple coils of stainless steel wire, submerged them into a test tube, filled it with water and a bit of baking soda, then connected the power. Instantly, when I connected the 12V 10A DC power supply, I observed the tiny bubbles rising from the coils, so I thought, hey, this is promising, so I capped the test tube off with a solder sucker bulb from radio shack, sealed it with electrical tape, and awaited it to fill with the hydrogen, IF it WAS truly hydrogen.