PDA

View Full Version : explanation sought for higher oxygen reading when adding HHO

johnyb
09-24-2009, 05:04 AM
Forgive me if this has already been posted before. I have done a search but have not been able to find the explanation i am seeking.

I am a newbie in that i have no real experience with HHO yet. Well, except for a quick and dirty baking soda experiment some years ago, which hardly counts, as i was freaked out at how quickly the cell managed to melt the container. I was really pushed for time in doing much more. Since about last year i have done some reading off and on about HHO, and i am contemplating some experimentation as the weather starts to fine up at this side of the globe.

Ok, on to the question
How is it that the (claims of the) exhaust gas Oxygen sensor gives a richer Oxygen reading if one adds HHO without any Effie or other modifications??? It just does not make sense as to how or why. Will someone please explain this.

Thanks

Philldpapill
09-24-2009, 07:25 PM
First, HHO is nothing special. It's a mixture of Hydrogen(H2) and Oxygen(O2) molecules. The intersting thing about it, is that it is a stochiometric ratio, meaning that for every O2 molecule, there are 2 H2 molecules. This is perfect for combustion because, in chemistry terms, all the reactants are converted to the products, without any left over. In other words, when you ignite the HHO mixture, every bit of it is turned into H20 - water.

The reason that your O2 sensor sees more oxygen, is because there IS more oxygen from the Oxygen in the HHO. Simple as that. However, your computer in your car doesn't take into account that this extra oxygen also has extra combustibles(Hydrogen) in the mixture. In other words, the computer "thinks" that there is too much oxygen coming in for the given fuel mixture.

johnyb
09-25-2009, 04:00 AM
Thanks for taking the time to explain