PDA

View Full Version : Let's talk engines

M34me
08-28-2009, 11:21 AM
I should first note that I am no engineer and I have no college education, but I am a car guy and I do enjoy entertaining new ideas and trying to think outside the box.

I'm very curious how much HHO would be needed to run an ICE in HHO alone and why no one has seemed to accomplish this. Oh I know there are rumors of the one guy that supposedly did it and then got killed over it, but those are rumors.

Due to the substantial increase in burn rate, would it be better if someone were to design an engine around the fuel instead of trying to make it work in what we have?

Would it be better to significantly change the timing, compression, cylinder size, stroke etc.etc?

And then how much hho would you need to operate said engine, assuming you could generate it onboard. (maybe not possible?) If you could generate it onboard efficiency of course is crucial. So would it be better to use a catalyst such as urea which only needs .43 volts to make the hh? Then get the O2 from the air.

Obviously you would need to generate the H2 and then compress and store it in order to feed the engine at the varied rates of power demand.

If it can't be done onbaord, then what about an on board generator to assist h2 production and generating unit, maybe even solar/wind powered generating and compressing the hh all day long allowing you to fill up each night after work.

I'm sure others have thought about all of this already, but I have not seen a discussion on it.

The main thing I'd like the discussion to be about is the engine. What would a properly designed engine be configured like?