PDA

View Full Version : Question regarding Voltage on my cell !!

bmiller
07-06-2009, 09:27 AM
Hi all, I am new to HHO production and find it very interesting. I don't know anybody else working with this stuff so getting help with questions is pretty difficult. I recently built a small dry cell as my first unit. I had 8 (3"x5") 316 SS plates to work with. I used all 8 in a single cell design with positive connected at one end and negative on the other. When i fired it up I wasn't getting any gas production...I did some reading and learned that for a one cell design, 8 plates was causing too much voltage drop which was why i wasn't getting any gas. Here's where it gets interesting...as I was testing voltage with the multimeter, I accidentally touched the side of the probe to two plates at once bridging the plates in the middle. All of a sudden I started getting quite a bit of gas considering the size and amperage of the unit. As soon as I break the bridge, the gas stops. I used a solid piece of 14g copper wire to create the bridge. The wire is bent in a U shape and wedged between plates 3/4 and 5/6. I am using a computer power supply for testing at this point. Prior to this mod, voltage at each end of the cell used to read approx 11.5 volts with no gas production. After the mod, voltage now reads approx 10.5 with good gas production. I checked the voltage through the cell after the mod and it goes like this. Voltages are approximates....Plate1 is Positive, Plate8 is Negative

Plate 1-2 2.5 volts
Plate 1-3 5 volts
Plate 1-4 5 volts
Plate 1-5 5 volts
Plate 1-6 5 volts
Plate 1-7 7.5 volts
Plate 1-8 10.5 volts

I am no electrician which is why I am seeking assistance. This doesn't appear to be causing strain on my power supply. The Power supply is not getting hot. Does anybody know what kind of wiring I have? I would estimate that I am getting around .5L/min at only 9 or 10 amps. It seems like a decent amount of production for a small cell at low amperage.