PDA

View Full Version : Help with voltage from battery

wentlanv
06-21-2009, 06:39 PM
This is my first build. I connected my relay and cell as instructed, but am only getting 0.43 Volts to both my relay and cell.

My switch has 2 blades, could the problem be that I wired the blades backwards?
It turns on and off just fine.

T::confused:

mytoyotasucks
06-21-2009, 10:03 PM
This is my first build. I connected my relay and cell as instructed, but am only getting 0.43 Volts to both my relay and cell.

My switch has 2 blades, could the problem be that I wired the blades backwards?
It turns on and off just fine.

T::confused:

doesnt matter which blades u used on the switch.

now u should have the relay wired to the battery, than another to ground, one to the switch to turn on the relay, and one to the cell.

which wires do u have going where on the relay?? if u look close theres # on the relay like 86 and 87 and

wentlanv
06-22-2009, 01:54 AM
Thanx for getting back to me so quickly.

The relay is a White-Rodgers, 12 VDC, type 70, isolated coil.
It has two large connections out to the side and two smaller ones in front. The only #s I can see on it are on top above the smaller connects.
The right side is A5 and the left, A6. Right and left are as I face it...

I hooked it up with the right side large to HHO cell, left large to Batt+ with an inline audio fuse. The right side small goes to switch, A5, and the other to Batt-.
I thought that I might have connected to the wrong sides of the relay and switched them. Tested with voltmeter and got - readings, so switched them back.

My instructions also say that both small connects should get 0 readings and I get that same 0.43-0.46 reading on the switch connect.

I also get a reading across my battery terminals at the same level. Is this OK?

I'm a newbie and don't know 'nothing!

Thanx,
T

mytoyotasucks
06-22-2009, 11:52 AM
ok seems like u got it hooked up right.