PDA

View Full Version : PWM Power Supply Unit - Features suggestions wanted

Philldpapill
06-01-2009, 02:11 AM
Hey, all! I came across this forum via Zero Fossil Fuel's Website. I've been fascinated by electrolysis and producing Hydrogen for years. I'm writing this post to try to get some suggestions for a device I'm making... But first, a little info about me...

I'm in my senior year studying Electrical Engineering at the University of Texas. I love designing electronics. I've been tinkering around with hydrogen production for a few years now, off and on. I've been learning alot, these past 3 years in school, and I hope some of my insight into the electrical aspects of HHO can be an asset to the community. This is my first posting, and I hope only the first of many.

Now, let me get to the meat of this post. I'm currently designing a new PWM unit for HHO Production. I'm designing this because it's a really fun project for me, and also because I hope it can be a VERY valuable tool for everyone here. This little gadget is extremely different from every unit I've seen in use. It is NOT a simple frequency/duty cycle adjuster. It's more like a computer. Well, it IS a computer in a way. It has a sophisticated 8 core multiprocessor inside that allows it to do some really funky things... This gadget has the ability to interface with your computer/laptop, and display all sorts of real-time data. It's main purpose is to be a data collection tool, in addition to the onboard 75A high frequency PWM unit(>500kHz, and under some conditions into the MHz range...). Some of the features include:

1. Real-time data logging of current consumption, voltage, power consumption, HHO cell temperature, among various other things.
2. Real-time graphing of all the items listed above, for visual analysis.
3. Frequency sweeping, and logging information about power consumption vs. frequency. This could be used as a major tool to find any sort of resonant frequency of your cell...