PDA

View Full Version : Have I just wasted £100?

dougie175
01-29-2009, 08:01 AM
I work as a car body repairer and was asked to fit a home made hho kit to someones Diesel Volvo a couple of months ago. I completed the installation pretty easy, he came back to me a couple of weeks later claiming huge MPG increase, his average had gone up from 45-almost 60mpg which is amazing!

This got me really thinking, I did loads of research online listening to the believers and none believers and decided the only way to really work out if this technology is worth it is to have a go.

I have a 2000 Peugeot 306 diesel HDi 90bhp as standard, running 21psi boost front mounted intercooler and now runs 155bhp and 260 ftlb torque so the engine is heavily tuned over standard.

I went out and thought this looked like a nice kit: http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Twin-Hydrogen-HHO-Kit-more-MPG-with-water-stainless-316_W0QQitemZ140296594537QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Car sParts_Vehicles_CarParts_SM?hash=item140296594537&_trksid=p3911.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683%7C66%3A2%7C65%3A12%7C39%3A1%7C 240%3A1318 so purchased one from www.hydrochargeme.com

On receiving the kit all the build quality seemed good and was reasonably impressed, however was a little shocked to find there was not a series of stainless plates just litrally a posotive and a negative rod sitting inside the container, surley that cant be the most effective way to produce hydrogen?

The kit uses potassium hydroxide as an electrolyte around 2.5g per 900ml of water

Yesturday I finished installing the kit, cant say I have noticed any difference to drive yet. And of corse having only done about 20 miles I havnt been able to record a MPG increase.

I really want this technology to work and prove it does, Im just wondering what you experts think I should do as far as improving the setup.