PDA

View Full Version : pwm schooling????

mikem1977
11-11-2008, 06:28 PM
Hey, newbie here. Ive recently put together a generator, smack design pretty much and installed it in my truck. I think I understand the basic idea of the pwm...basicly it pulses power to the cell so its not a "constant on" so to speak which helps to keep the heat down...?am I on track here. Ive also read that some pwm's have multiple adjustments...current and Hz. I guess what im trying to figure out is if you power up your unit and set the pwm to say 15A, is that the max current it will draw even once its warmed up? The way I see it is if you control the amps you control the heat as well? As far as the Hz adjustment goes, is that how fast it cycles on and off?...ive been reading all over the net and havent found much that thouroughly explains it..so here I am:)...id like to find one that will do both if one exists, any input here? thanks for your time...Mike

overtaker
11-11-2008, 06:44 PM
Welcome Mike. Someone will be around to help soon.

H2OPWR
11-11-2008, 07:12 PM
Hey, newbie here. Ive recently put together a generator, smack design pretty much and installed it in my truck. I think I understand the basic idea of the pwm...basicly it pulses power to the cell so its not a "constant on" so to speak which helps to keep the heat down...?am I on track here. Ive also read that some pwm's have multiple adjustments...current and Hz. I guess what im trying to figure out is if you power up your unit and set the pwm to say 15A, is that the max current it will draw even once its warmed up? The way I see it is if you control the amps you control the heat as well? As far as the Hz adjustment goes, is that how fast it cycles on and off?...ive been reading all over the net and havent found much that thouroughly explains it..so here I am:)...id like to find one that will do both if one exists, any input here? thanks for your time...Mike