PDA

View Full Version : ** DO NOT USE ** McMaster Carr Check Valve 47245K37

Painless
10-15-2008, 09:17 AM
I've been recommending this check valve, part number 47245K37 from McMasterCarr, as I have been using it for quite a few months now without problems. The website describes it as follows:

" PVDF Body with Viton Diaphragm— For external applications requiring superior chemical and abrasion resistance. Temp. range is -70° to +250° F"

Well, this morning this check valve failed and my reservoir sucked vinegar from the cleansing bubbler back into itself. As you can imagine, the acid in the vinegar combined well with the base KOH solution.

Apologies to all that I have recommended this valve to that have used it, it was fine for me for many months until now.

resago
10-15-2008, 10:22 AM
has anyone found a solid reliable check valve?

Farmercal
10-15-2008, 10:38 AM
Why not just use two check valves inline with each other. Then you can periodically pull them off and check them to ensure they still provide protection. I know you shouldn't have to do that but any product can fail at any time.

HHOinKY
10-15-2008, 10:41 AM
Just ordered one last night....damn.

Painless
10-15-2008, 10:52 AM
I've been thinking this through whilst flushing and refilling my system this morning, the one thing that has changed yesterday is that the strenght of my electrolyte has gone up considerably. Perhaps this is what caused it to fail?

Instead of a check between the gen and the bubbler, I think a safer idea would be to use a solenoid valve attached to a breather hose on the gen. The valve should be normally open but closed when current is supplied.

HHOinKY
10-15-2008, 02:21 PM
Did the KOH eat the valve some maybe?

Jaxom
10-15-2008, 06:18 PM