PDA

View Full Version : Measuring Hydrogen By Weight?

Tremorfalcon
10-09-2008, 12:21 PM
From what I understand, a cars ECU calculates the air/fuel ratio by weight, not by volume.

I looked it up on wikipedia and here is the density of hydrogen.

(0 °C, 101.325 kPa)
0.08988 g/L

So, how could we use this to convert hydrogen from liters (volume) to a measurement by a weight? I'm assuming the g is grams, but I'm not sure how I'd convert that to a weight...

Weight = Mass X Acceleration due to gravity, correct?

So...1 pound = Mass X 9.8. Mass = 0.10204 kilograms or 102.04 grams. So, 102.04 grams / 0.08988g/L = 1135.2915 liters. So it would take 1135.2915 liters of Hydrogen to make 1 pound of it? Would this be correct? I havent done anything chemistry related since I was a sophomore in high school so its been a while.

Jaxom
10-09-2008, 12:47 PM
It's simpler than that. If the stadard density is .09g/L, then one liter of H2 gas weighs .09 grams at atmospheric pressure and 0°C. There's a problem though...as temp. increases the gas will expand, which lowers the density. We need to know the actual temp. of the gas, as well as a temp/density curve, to find the actual weight of any given volume of H2 gas. The temp./density curve can probably be found online if you dig for it.

Then you have to factor in the oxygen content of the HHO.

Smith03Jetta
10-09-2008, 01:55 PM
The problem is that you have to measure the weight in a vacuum. It is lighter than AIR so it will have a NEGATIVE weight if measured normally. If you hold a balloon full of hydrogen and stand on a scale you will weigh less.

Remember Zeppelins? Hindenburg?

Tremorfalcon
10-09-2008, 05:42 PM