PDA

View Full Version : Accidents

ridelong
09-30-2008, 04:55 PM
All,
I have been running HHO of some form for over 6 months. I realize how explosive it is and treat it so.

I originally connected the generator to my parking lights during the experimental phase. I finished up the design and testing of the final controller design (see temperature feedback pwm) on thursday.

Last friday I was showing the generator to a guy I work with. I forgot to turn the parking lights off. I went to the parking lot 2 hours later and discovered the generator had been on for two hours.

I immediately turned the gen off, disconnected the pcv line and blew and inhaled into the intake manifold for about 10 minutes. Then I let the truck sit for 2 hours.

I went to start the truck and BOOM. See picture for results. BTW, an intake manifold for a 2003 Ford Ranger is $200. Oh yea, a MAP sensor is $60.

http://www.mikecramer.com/images/intake1.jpg

Farmercal
09-30-2008, 05:29 PM
That's why I power a booster with something that is ONLY on when the ignition is in the ON position. Perhaps you should have taken your plugs out and let it air out that way.

resago
09-30-2008, 05:56 PM
get one of those vacuum switches so its only on when the engine is turning.

ridelong
09-30-2008, 05:56 PM
Should of pulled plug wires and had someone push me in 4th gear for 20 feet or so, I have 20-20 hindsight.

ridelong
09-30-2008, 05:59 PM
It's fixed with the final design. The power relay coil is wired to the fuel pump relay, so hho only when the fuel pump is running.

Installed the final design sunday. See tempreature feedback pwm thread.

jimbo40
09-30-2008, 06:29 PM
Wow,
that is scary. if someone was standing there they could have been hurt pretty bad if a peice of the shrapnal had hit them in the juggler vein or somewhere vital.
Thank God nobody got hurt.

Dewayne
09-30-2008, 07:09 PM
OOPS !!!! :eek::eek:

Smith03Jetta
10-01-2008, 09:00 AM
I really want to see that photo but the link is not working.

pj91gsx