PDA

View Full Version : New student, HHO generator issues...

sho14u
09-16-2008, 12:22 AM
Hey guys, new to the forum. I have signed up cuz I have been building these things for about 6 months now and I am stuck. My latest design is a 3 cell configuration (3 different units). In each unit I am using stainless steel wire with equal windings as you can see in the picture. I am using distilled water and Roebic drain cleaner (100% sodium hydroxide) as my solution. My problem is that I may not be wiring the unit correctly. When in use the unit draws less than 10 amps and seems to work well. The only problem is that the unit gets so hot that it actually melts the mounts for the wire and the acrylic base inside. I thought maybe it was a fluke so I built an identicle unit today and it did the same thing after about 10 miles. I notice that a lot of you are talking more about the wiring rather than the electrodes. I did the Home Depot stainless wall plate thing and it got so hot that I couldn't run it for more than about 10 minutes at a 20 amp load. I know you may be asking if my electrodes are touching, no the are not. I have taken great effort to make the electrodes isolated and insulated. I know I am missing something here, probably the wiring I would assume. I have also built a unit out of stainless shim stock at a .060 thickness plate with the same results with heat and meltdown. Please help.. I wanna get better gas mileage, but more importantly I want to prove that the average village idiot can make something that the automobile manufacters fail to integrate into their cars. Oops... Did I say that out loud? :D

Painless
09-16-2008, 06:35 AM
I'm wondering if it is just the mounts getting hot as opposed to the whole electrode system? Can you give more information as to what you have used here?