PDA

View Full Version : Acetone added straight to your gas?

HHOhoper
09-13-2008, 05:31 PM
My brother just recently told me about some research he's done about adding small amounts of pure acetone straight to your gasoline to improve MPG. He tested it on his eclipse and he saw a 6 MPG increase. I had NEVER heard of this and decided to dig in a little deeper. I found this article that seemed very interesting:

http://www.pureenergysystems.com/news/2005/03/17/6900069_Acetone

If this can really work, that would be fantastic to run in tandem with HHO as long as there are no draw backs. Where I'm brand new to this concept, I'm curious to know if anyone else has heard of this or has any experience!

Thanks all!

wrxdrvr
09-13-2008, 05:55 PM
I have been putting Acetone in my gas tank for 3+ years experimenting how much works the best, and came to the conclusion that 1 1/2 oz per tank works the best on my car (a WRX impreza). Here are my mileage numbers for the last 6 years, total average MPG per year;

'02; 21.8 MPG No additive in tank
'03; 22.1 MPG No additive in tank
'04; 21.4 MPG No additive in tank
'05; 22.5 MPG Experiment with 4oz Acetone per tank
'06; 22.8 MPG Experiment with 3oz Acetone per tank
'07; 23.8 MPG Experiment with 1 1/2oz Acetone per tank

That works out to 1.3 MPG better fuel mileage per year on average with acetone than without, or 2.4 MPG better from worst year without to best year with acetone... So as far as I'm concerned it does work, 6% to 11% better MPG for 23 cents a tank is pretty good... :)

hydrotinkerer
09-13-2008, 06:15 PM
I have been putting Acetone in my gas tank for 3+ years experimenting how much works the best, and came to the conclusion that 1 1/2 oz per tank works the best on my car (a WRX impreza). Here are my mileage numbers for the last 6 years, total average MPG per year;