PDA

View Full Version : Carbourater questions

VanHalen
09-11-2008, 11:05 AM
O K I'm no mechanic by any means, with just basic mechanical knowledge. I do know that a Carb is way less electrical than fuel injection. So I guess the question is, on my 84 s10 blazer, adding HHO may improve performance, but would it really improve MPG without some kind of adjustment to the gas flow in the carb? The HHO can mix with the gas easy enough, but what is stopping the gas from continuing to flow at the same rate as before

Griz64
09-12-2008, 01:42 AM
On your engine which you said is an 84 unless it has been replaced, you will have to adjust the jets on the carb to run leaner (less gas). My suggestion would be to find the correct screw on the carb (look in a manual) and slowly tighten it until the engine begins to stumble then back it off 1/4 of a turn--hook up you HHO and test it out..it should be fine but if its not then back off the screw another 1/4 turn...etc. Hope this helps.

Cadillac
09-12-2008, 02:59 AM
If your carburetor is stock then it is ran by the GM computer command control (CCC) system. The main advantage of this system is its use of the (M/C) mixture control solenoid. The system functions in five distinct ways.

1. Shutdown mode - When the engine is less then 200 rpms or battery voltage is less then 9 volts the system goes into shutdown mode. This ensures that no voltage is supplied to the M/C solenoid.

2. Start-up - This provides a stronger then normal signal sent to the M/C solenoid to provide the engine with enrichment. The length of this enriched state is determined by the coolant temperature sensor. This mode overrides the next two states.

3. Open-loop - This is the mode where the engine and oxygen sensors are warming up but have not achieved proper operational temperatures.