PDA

View Full Version : A skeptic's journey, my experience reading up on HHO and now starting...

DigitalMocking
08-29-2008, 09:38 AM
I, like MrSmith of these forums, am a skeptic by trade and personality. If it's too good to be true, it has to be has been my mantra most of my life, and it's served me well so far. After reading his dedicated writeup, many of the other threads here and on some other forums, I can't say I'm a believer yet, but I'm willing to experiment on my own. I've ordered the necessary parts to build my own HHO reactor, and I have a few things going into this project that should make it relatively easy to quantify my results. I'm an active Hypermiller right now. I check and adjust tire pressure on my car weekly and I keep pretty anal retentive records of my gas mileage. If adding HHO and changing my car's F/A ratio and timing increases my gas mileage, I'll be the first to raise the believer flag and do what I can to convert others.

I currently drive a 1994 jetta 5 speed manual with the 2.0 engine in it. In mixed driving over the last 10 tanks of gas I'm getting 24.1mpg, which is just above the revised EPA numbers for my vehicle. Gas usage is measured via GPS readings, not the speedometer, as the vehicle has larger aftermarket tires installed. I've been considering going back to stock, thinner tires for some time now, but for the duration of this test, I don't want to change anything.

These are my thoughts going into this project;